19 May 2017 / Club News

Four-try Osian Davies takes Griffiths Cup final centre stage for young Preseli Men

Griffiths Cup Under 18 Final

Crymych 54 – Haverfordwest 3

Crymych cruised to an impressive victory against Haverfordwest and led to skipper Jon Hill lifting the Griffiths Cup silverware at the Athletic Ground, Neyland, on Thursday evening.

The young Preseli Men scored eight unanswered tries with seven converted to run out comfortable winners.
Starring for the Crymych was Osian Davies, the centre crossed for four cracking tries, which secured his talented team the silverware, despite The young Blues putting in a gallant effort, but on the night could have no complaints as they were well beaten by a far stronger outfit.

The young Preseli Men led 26-3 at the interval, skipper and no 8 Jon Hill drove over from close range for the opening unconverted try, hooker Lee Griffiths was on hand to add the second try, goaled by Jac Davies. Livewire centre Osian Davies sliced through a gap for the third and fourth tries, both converted by Jac Davies.

The young Blues were awarded a penalty that centre Jacob Lay easily slotted and that was the last action of the first half.

In the second half the young Preseli Men continued to put the young Blues under pressure, centre Alex Varney crossed try number five, full back Osian Edwards added the sixth, and the final concluded with the outstanding Osian Davies grabbing two further tries, all converted by Jac Davies.

Crymych U18s: Osian Edwards, Sion Evans, Alex Varney, Osian Davies, Rhodri George, Jac Davies, Iwan Toft, Tom Cress, Lee Griffiths, Majrowch Scott, Matthew Freebury, Morgan Davies, Dafydd Vaughan, Iwan Davies, Jon Hill (Captainn). Replacements: Joey Mathias, Sion Wilson, Morgan James, Llew Bevan Steve Varney, Ilan Phillips.

Haverfordwest U18s: Jake Morgan, Ewan Griffiths, Dan Rawlings, Jacob Lay, Callum woods, Will Lewis Mark Stobbs (Captain), Cole Barry, Matthew Clayton, Tom Carrington, Josh Young, Will Blackburn, Geraint Worby, Dylan Williamson, James Hart. Replacements: Jack Evans, Louis Thomas, Callum John, Josh Davies, Lewis Tinlay, Josh Hamer.

There doesn't appear to be any tagged photos.

Upload and Tag Photos

You must be signed in to add comments